Have Your Cake & Eat It Too!

I am not much of a cook. I think if I didn’t HAVE to come up with something to make for dinner on a daily basis, go to the grocery store, make sure I am buying healthy, nutritious, appealing food to conjure into similarly healthy, nutritious and appealing meals, I might like it better. If, say, I had all the time in the world, the perfectly-functioning kitchen, an appreciative audience who would “ooh!” and “ahh!” and rave over my culinary prowess, the whole cooking thing might be less of a chore. Sound familiar?

But, like most people, mine is a harsher reality and, in it, making meals feels like drudgery.
(Yeah, yeah, First World Problem, I know.)

What I DO enjoy, however, is BAKING. Baked goods look pretty, so that makes me happy.
What makes me even happier, however, is EATING all those pretty baked goods! Nom!

I do spend a lot of time over on the Pinterest, pinning recipes I will (prolly) never make. Every now and then, a recipe shows up there that is quick, easy and yummy (my three key requirements!) and so I give it a try in a desperate bid to justify my Pinterest habit…

This recipe for Trisha Yearwood‘s Key Lime Cake has been all over Pinterest, for good reason.
I loved the sound of it– Key Lime Cake? Yes, please!
I put aside my skepticism when I saw that it required a) a cake mix, b) lime Jell-o (really?!) and made it anyway.
Oh, boy, was I glad I did! It is super-easy and it tastes amazing.
A. MAZ. ING.

It has become my, “Do you need me to bring something?” item when going to parties.
(I have perfected the art of volunteering-to-bring-dessert-before-the-hostess-can-ask-for-an-appetizer. Bad me!)

You can find the recipe here. And, if you make it, I suggest keeping only 1/3 of the recommended oil; substitute the remaining 2/3 with yogourt– less fat and the cake is just as moist, but not greasy.
Also, I skip the icing and just dust it with icing sugar. Yummy!

2 thoughts on “Have Your Cake & Eat It Too!

    • It truly is delicious–do give it a try! I think you could swap applesauce for the oil, too, but I like the tang from the yogourt because it works well with the lime.

Got something to say?

