Seasonal Switch, Part I

Do you have “summer” and “winter” looks for your home? I do.* I started doing the seasonal decor switch-up (in our living room) when we bought our house. The summer look is lighter, more neutral; the winter look includes pops of ruby red. While both include a few of my favourite things, there are a few differences between the two. The summer look includes shells, jute twine, beach glass and white pebbles. The winter look includes pine-cones, old books, mercury glass.

In a classic case of the shoemakers’ children, the living room’s summer decor ended up looking a bit mish-mashy and messy this year — one day, I just shoved all the mason jars I’d been using as candle holders for a dinner party onto the mantel– too lazy to put them away properly. I couldn’t get the garland on the picture frame right; there are usually two, one made of beach glass, and they usually look quite pretty. This year, I put up a fabric one I’d made from Liberty prints and antique chandelier crystals; I usually love it, but this summer, it just left me cold. Meh.

I just never really got this look together.

But then the seasons changed and I began to fantasize about using my sweet little café lights….. It took several tries over the course of a few days, but I ended up with something I like.

Here is Version #1. Looks pretty good in photos, but looked too “busy” in real life.

Stay tuned for the rest of the process!

*I am pretty sure this practice was invented by decor junkies as an excuse for us to “redecorate” twice a year. Don’t even get me started on holiday decor! 😉

2 thoughts on “Seasonal Switch, Part I

Got something to say?

