Giddy

delovelydelightfuldelovelydelightful

This past Saturday, BMad and I spent a very enjoyable day at IDS2013, the International Design Show.
There was so very much to see and I wore out my phone battery with taking photos! I am still feeling giddy and dizzy with ideas and inspiration. Can’t wait to share some of them with you here.

To begin, I found some very exciting paint options (Oh, how I love to paint up flea market finds!), including a 102 year-old company of which I had never heard before. The woman at the General Paint booth was very helpful, informative and generous. She was so very passionate about paint– I felt I’d found a kindred spirit!

delovelydelightful

BMad’s book– a promotional gift from General Paint.

When she learned that BMad is an artist, she gave him a gorgeous book in which the company’s trend forecasts for 2013 are detailed. What you cannot tell from my photos (he loaned me the book for blogging purposes and I am loathe to give it back– it’s so very pretty!), is that the various paint swatches are textured to mimic the finish of the paint and the surfaces on which one might use that particular finish. Isn’t that smart?

delovelydelightful

I am excited to try out this new brand of paint on some upcoming projects.
In the meantime, here are some of the stunning images from the book.

Each trend section includes some inspiration photos. This jelly mould illustration makes me swoon!

Each trend section includes some inspiration photos. This jelly mould illustration makes me swoon!

Here is the trend, "Refine," taken in part from the  jelly mould inspiration.

Here is the trend, “Refine,” taken in part from the jelly mould inspiration. Love these colours.

The inspiration for the "Rebirth" trend.

The inspiration for the “Rebirth” & “Renew” trends.

I love this inspiration image for the "Renew" trend.

I love this inspiration image for the “Renew” trend.

The "Renew" palette.

The “Renew” palette. My favourite– am dying to use some of these!

This is my favourite image in the book. Breathtaking, no?

Got something to say?

