Shameless

It’s true: I am a shameless devotee of IKEA. If you are anti-IKEA because you are still scarred by the whole Billy bookcase experience, then I urge you to reconsider.

They have really come a long way since their early days. They have, in short, upped their game.

delovelydelightful

I admire people who, when their homes appear in fancy magazine spreads, readily admit to owning pieces from IKEA. Stylists know it’s a great source of accessories and finishing touches. I am always a fan of great design that won’t break the bank. My dear LHR tells me all the time that that is my super-power: the ability to make something inexpensive look expensive. Maybe she’s right. I think it has more to do with being willing to see what looks good, regardless of price. I don’t care if something cost a lot or a little- if it looks good and makes you happy, then it’s money well-spent.

delovelydelightful

The IKEA booth at IDS2013 was A.MA.ZING. I thought I’d share a bit of the bathroom installation with you because it is the perfect example of what IKEA does best: provides us with great looking “low” items to mix with beautiful “high” items in order to create a gorgeous room on a budget. In this case, the beautiful antique tub and the truly stunning bones of this “room” are the high-end bits; the accessories, chairs and rugs are from IKEA.

delovelydelightful

Quite a beautiful mix, don’t you think?

Got something to say?

