Spot On

delovelydelightful

delovelydelightful

Confession time: when I painted up the hutch above, I was really under the gun, time-wise. Which meant that I did not really finish the interior of the little drawer where I store my small, flat clutches and evening bags.  The wood is very rough in there and I only had time for a quick coat of primer, so it looked pretty grim.  Worse, it was sort of “pick-y” and a bit of a dangerous spot to store delicate vintage items. Which I put in there anyway because I didn’t have time to deal with the problem. Very bad, lazy, rushed blogger!
I figured I’d get around to it someday….

delovelydelightful

That day came along as soon as I found the Cutest Kraft Paper Ever at Homesense the other day.

delovelydelightful

If you’d like to do similar to a drawer or some cupboards of your own, you will need:

1. Spray adhesive
2. Sharp scissors (or an X-acto knife and a straight edge– mine are in the shambles of my sewing room, currently inaccessible due to renovations, so I used scissors and just cut very slowly and carefully)
3. Cute lining– wallpaper remnant, fabric, wrapping paper, old tablecloth cut down to size… You could stamp or write on or otherwise decorate your own kraft paper or white paper. How about black paper with chalk pen designs or calligraphy?
4. A tape measure to determine the dimensions of the lining.
(Hint: if I were to do this again, I’d wrap one long piece along the bottom of the drawer and up over the back panel = no seams, pattern stays consistent.  I am GUTTED that I didn’t think of this until it was far too late. Live & learn!)
5. A ruler or straight edge to mark your measurements on the lining
6. A pencil to draw a guideline along the measurements on the lining

Start by measuring your drawer or shelf and then transfer those measurements very carefully to the wrong side of the lining. (See #4 with hint above!)

Carefully cut your lining material to size.

Tape off edges of drawer or shelf– you need to protect them from the overspray of the adhesive; if the latter is left with nothing stuck to it, it dries VERY tacky and stays that way. Messy and horrible!  The adhesive I used gives you 15 seconds of working time, which is not much, so work in batches/pieces and get all your stuff lined up ahead of time. I did a dry-fit of my paper before moving to the adhesive stage and was glad of it; turns out my first piece of paper was a hair too small for the bottom of the drawer and I had to cut another one.

I sprayed the back of the drawer first and glued that strip of lining on, smoothing out the air bubbles as I went along. Then I did each side in turn and ended off with the bottom. I wanted to practise a bit with the adhesive and paper before doing the largest (and most visible) piece. I did it in stages, spraying the back of the drawer bottom first, using the wrong side of the lining as a shield to protect the lined rear panel. After positioning the bottom lining and gluing down the first 2-3 inches, I worked forward, spraying adhesive and using the remaining drawer lining piece as a shield. Worked pretty well, though I did have to pull it up and reposition it in the initial stage. The adhesive worked just fine– it was forgiving enough to give me time to move the paper around a bit.

DO THE SPRAYING OUTSIDE!
The adhesive is really fume-y, so you will need to be somewhere well-ventilated, even if you can’t get outside. Keep pets and kids clear of the probably-totally-toxic-but-you-are-willing-to-inhale-them-for-the-sake-of-your-need-to-make-stuff-look-pretty fumes.

delovelydelightful

The edges of the drawer looked a bit rough (why didn’t I paint the top edge at the back?!), so I turned to my dear pal, washi tape, and rolled a bit along each of the sides and the back.

delovelydelightful

Done! The paper camouflages some of the roughness and warped-ness of the bottom of the drawer and it is smoother against the delicate fabric of some of my vintage evening bags. Also, it just looks cheery, doesn’t it?

delovelydelightful
Total time for this little project: 20-30 minutes.
Difficulty level: easy, if a bit fiddly.

Got something to say?

