Dippity-do DIY

As M has (not so gently) pointed out, I am a bit obsessed these days with the whole “dipped” look. In getting our office makeover spruced up*, I have used that look as a kind of unifying motif.

When the time came to hang/rehang our pictures and artwork, I wanted to swap out all our dark frames for white and cream-coloured ones so that they provide some contrast against the deep, dark walls. I also wanted to add something that was not just a rectangular frame to the wall. Enter one of the wooden initials I picked up years ago and which have been leaning in various vignettes around the house.

delovelydelightful

In under half an hour, I transformed the black M into a crisp, on-trend little item to add to our gallery wall in the office.

First, I painted the top of the letter with Annie Sloan’s Old White chalk paint, leaving the bottom unpainted. Once that was dry, I taped off the upper part of the letter, being careful to cover the whole thing and to keep the line good and straight. Next, I applied a few coats of gold spray paint and then peeled the painters’ tape away veeeeeery sloooooowly so as not to pull off any of the paint.

delovelydelightful

I want to get something long and vertical to hang next to the M and to bring the “shape” of the frame cluster down lower, but for now I am pretty happy with the whole thing. I love the gold-dip on the letter and the way it sort of “pops” against the dark wall.  (You will have to trust me– it is very hard to take a good photo in a small room with dark walls, it turns out. 🙂 )

delovelydelightful

Happy Weekend!

*we are nearly there, I promise!

3 thoughts on “Dippity-do DIY

Got something to say?

