First Things First

delovelydelightful

This past weekend, M had a birthday. He is one of those people who could happily just let the day go by without acknowledging it at all. I, on the other hand, am one of those people who thinks it is a crime against humanity that we do not all get a day off on our birthdays.
No, seriously– I think birthdays should be A Really Big Deal. Or at least a Marginally Big Deal.

delovelydelightful

I got him some prezzies and took him out for dinner. I also made him his favourite cake, with a twist. He loves 1-2-3-4 cake, so I made him 1-2-3-4 chocolate cupcakes. I just added cocoa to the batter until I liked it. I made cardamom cocoa butter cream icing and added a few sprinkles. I free-styled the recipe for the icing. 🙂

delovelyldelightful

To make things a bit more fun, I used colourful paper straws and cute, polka-dotted birthday candles for the final flourish.

delovelydelightful

The result? A success: he polished off a dozen cupcakes in two days flat. {I may or may not have helped. A little.}

Got something to say?

